Wednesday, May 18, 2022
HomeNational NewsUP Legislative Council Elections: Voting in 27 seats today, SP-BJP-SP face to...

UP Legislative Council Elections: Voting in 27 seats today, SP-BJP-SP face to face in most of the contests.

UP Legislative Council elections

There is a direct contest between the BJP and the Samajwadi Party on most of the 27 local body seats in the Legislative Council. At the same time, independents in Pratapgarh, Varanasi and Azamgarh can also spoil the mathematics of BJP. BJP is all set to win maximum seats in the council.

Out of 36 seats in the local body of the council, BJP has won 9 seats unopposed. The remaining 27 seats will go to polls on Saturday. The BJP has appointed a state functionary and a minister in charge of the state government for each seat. The party has divided voters into A, B and C categories. Voters have been contacted at different levels in four to five phases in each constituency. The voters who are against BJP have been kept in C category.

The party has prepared a strategy at every level to get the ‘C’ category voters to vote according to the rules of the party. In 24 out of 27 seats, BJP is in direct competition with SP candidates. However, in some places, the rebels of SP and BJP are also contesting the elections. But in Azamgarh, Pratapgarh and Varanasi, independent candidates have made the contest interesting.

In Varanasi seat, BJP’s Sudama Singh Patel will face Annapurna Singh, wife of mafia Brijesh Singh. Bridges also ran as an independent, but withdrew his nomination. Brijesh has been a council member from this seat.

BJP has fielded Haripratap Singh from Pratapgarh. His rival is Akshay Pratap Singh, an independent candidate from Pratapgarh. Akshay Pratap Singh is close to Jansatta Dal’s democratic president and MLA Raja Bhaiya. However, the court has sentenced Akshay Pratap Singh to seven years in prison for giving a fake address in the arm license. But, after his nomination was accepted, he remained on the field as he was sentenced. Due to the large number of presidents, area panchayat members, area panchayat presidents and close relatives of Raja Bhaiya in Pratapgarh gram panchayats, Akshay Pratap is competing with the ruling party in the district panchayat.

From Azamgarh, BJP has fielded Arun Kumar Yadav, son of SP MLA Ramakant Yadav. Vikrant Singh, son of MLC Yashwant Singh, who was out of BJP from Azamgarh, is contesting as an independent. At the same time, SP MLA Ramakant Yadav is seeking votes against his son in support of SP candidate Rakesh Yadav. Due to Vikrant Singh contesting the election, this seat has also become a tri-party system.

vote with purple pen
Voters will have to cast their vote using a purple colored pen provided by the Presiding Officer. The voter has to write the selection number against the name of the candidate.

This ID should be displayed
Voters will be able to cast their vote at the polling stations by producing a photo identity card, an identity card issued by a local authority or any other document containing photographs.

Voting will be held on these seats
Moradabad-Bijnor, Rampur-Bareilly, Pilibhit-Shahjahanpur, Sitapur, Lucknow-Unnao, Rae Bareli, Pratapgarh, Sultanpur, Barabanki, Bahraich, Gonda-Faizabad, Basti-Siddharthnagar, Gorakhpur-Maharajpur, Ajgaon, Allahabad, Jhansi-Jalaun-Lalitpur, Kanpur-Fatehpur, Etawah-Farukhabad, Agra-Firozabad, Meerut-Ghaziabad and Muzaffarnagar-Saharanpur.

BJP has won these 9 seats unopposed
One member each from Badaun, Hardoi, Lakhimpur Kheri, Mirzapur-Sonbhadra, Banda-Hamirpur, Aligarh, Bulandshahr local bodies and two members each from Mathura-Etah-Mainpuri local bodies have been elected unopposed.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments